Read + Write + Report
Home | Start a blog | About Orble | FAQ | Blogs | Writers | Paid | My Orble | Login

Dickey Wins CY Young

R.A. Dickey, CY Young, New York Mets
Anthony Gruppuso/US Presswire
R.A. Dickey became the third Met to win the NL CY Young Award yesterday as he beat out Clayton Kershaw of the Dodgers and Gio Gonzalez of the Nationals. He went 20-6 on the season with a 2.73 ERA and 230 strikeouts. He is the first knuckleballer to win the award.

The other Mets to win the award were Tom Seaver and Dwight Gooden. Seaver won the award in 1969, 1973 and 1975 while Gooden won his in 1985. Dickey got 27 of a possible 32 first-place votes. His twenty win season was the first by a Met since Frank Viola in 1990. The team went 74-88 overall.

The Mets are currently trying to sign Dickey to a long-term deal along with David Wright.
Add To: Digg Furl StumbleUpon Yahoo

subscribe to this blog 



Recent Posts:
      Devils Win 
      Nets fall to Lakers 
      Parcells and the Jets 
      Ex-Jets in Super Bowl 
      Nets Blown Out 

Add A Comment

To create a fully formatted comment please click here.


Name or Orble Tag
Home Page (optional)
Bold Italic Underline Strikethrough Separator Left Center Right Separator Quote Insert Link Insert Email
Notify me of replies
Your Email Address
(required for reply notification)
More Posts
4 Posts
16 Posts
21 Posts
325 Posts dating from March 2010
Email Subscription
Receive e-mail notifications of new posts on this blog:

Raymond Mencke Jr's Blogs

I have no other blogs :(
Moderated by Raymond Mencke Jr
Copyright © 2012 On Topic Media PTY LTD. All Rights Reserved. Design by
On Topic Media ZPages: Sydney |  Melbourne |  Brisbane |  London |  Birmingham |  Leeds     [ Advertise ] [ Contact Us ] [ Privacy Policy ]